

August 15, 2011

Honorable John Leopold Anne Arundel County Executive Arundel Center, 44 Calvert Street Annapolis, Maryland 21404

Dear Mr. Leopold,

Several years ago we sought and received your assistance in a matter of critical importance to the environment and the health of the Herring Bay area. Once again we find ourselves seeking your help in blocking poor policy decisions which have the potential to cause real and lasting harm to the Chesapeake watershed.

As you are well aware, county land-use decisions are governed by the General Development Plan (GDP) and are informed by the Small Area Plans. The South County Small Area Planning process involved significant citizen participation and was a prime example of effective collaboration between the public and elected officials in government decision-making.

Out of that planning process emerged the guiding principle of keeping South County rural – a policy reflective of residents' wishes and designed to preserve and protect both our environmental resources and our quality of life. Unfortunately, recent zoning decisions made by the County Council directly conflict with policies in the GDP and with the recommendations of the Office of Planning and Zoning. Amendments like those allowing commercial development at the Lothian traffic circle and areas south of Route 214 would disrupt the rural fabric of South County, leading to the kind of fragmented, fiscally irresponsible development that the GDP process is designed to prevent.

Allowing such inconsistencies to become law would undermine the integrity and effectiveness of the county's planning process and set a dangerous precedent for future zoning decisions. We urge you to act as a check on legislative actions that violate the spirit if not the letter of Maryland's land-use laws by vetoing provisions in Bill 44-11 that are inconsistent with the GDP and the Small Area Plan for South County. If you have any questions about our views on this matter, please contact Stephen Marley at herringbay@gmail.com.

David Berry Michael Brewer Elizabeth Ruppert Bulmer John Clarke George Demas Stephan Dobert *Signatures continued on page 2* Elizabeth Berry Sharon Brewer Mark Bulmer Myles Conway Suzanne Demas Donald Eversfield Cindy Blackistone Jack Brumbaugh Joan B. Clancy Dana Danielson Claire Dobert Mary Ann Filipkowski

AHB • 404 Arundel Road • Tracys Landing, Maryland 20779 • http://home.comcast.net/~herringbay Letter to Honorable John Leopold Regarding Bill 44-11 August 14, 2011 Page 2

Clifford Foust Kristen Griner James Harle Donna Heflin Marylyn V. Leet Sonia Linebaugh Gail Martinez Fred Michaud Jim Muell Nancy Oliver Robert E. Poole Gail Schneider Barbi Eversfield Shields Eric Smith **Donald Stewart** Daniel M. Veith Lawrence Wannamacher Patricia Ford Wilson

Juanita Foust John Groves Joe Hasuly Maureen Hudson Peter Legg **Emily Manders** Keith Mayes Joele Michaud Kelly Myers **Farley Peters** Paul Rensted Karl Sclichter **Bill Shields** Scott Smith Catherine Thames Peggy S. Veith David Williamson Melinda Zimmerman

Kathy Gramp Ardith Harle Bill Hefflin Tom Hudson David Linebaugh Stephen Marley Mark McCaig Barbara Miller Dick Nelson William P. Poole, Jr. **Richard Ronay** Paula Sclichter **Barbara Smith** Anne Stewart Laurie Tillmans Jane M. Walter Jean Williamson

Cc:

Dick Ladd, Chairman, Councilman, District 5 Derek Fink, Vice-Chairman, Councilman, District 3 Daryl Jones, Councilman, District 1 John Grasso, Councilman, District 2 G. James Benoit, Councilman, District 4 Chris Trumbauer, Councilman, District 6 Jerry Walker, Councilman, District 7